Independence Day Quiz 2020 India – 50 Questions with Answers

Independence Day Quiz 2020 India - 50 Questions with Answers 1

If you are looking for Independence Day Quiz 2020 then you are in the right place. I listed some of the most popular Independence Day quiz 2020 below. In my previous article, I shared some of the best Happy Independence 2020 Images.

Independence Day Quiz 2019 India

Why we celebrate Independence Day on 15th August?

Independence Day of India is a National Festival, celebrated every year on the 15th of August. It is a day of great significance for the people of India. On this day in 1947, India got freedom from the British rule after long years of slavery. It has been declared as the National and Gazetted Holiday throughout the country, to commemorate its independence from British Empire on the 15th of August in 1947. You can read more about Independence Day of India here.

Independence Day Quiz 2020 India - 50 Questions with Answers 3


Let’s complete the Independence Day Quiz 2020 below.


Top Independence Day Quiz 2020

1. Who was the Bal in Lal, Bal, Pal?

a) Lal Bahadur Shastri

b) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

c) Jawaharlal Nehru

d) Motilal Nehru

The correct answer is b) Bal Gangadhar Tilak


2. Who was the first President of Independent India?

a) Mahatma Gandhi

b) Dr. S Radhakrishnan

c) Rajendra Prasad

d) Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru

The correct answer is c) Rajendra Prasad


3. The first Indian National Army was founded by

a) Bhagat Singh

b) Capt Mohan Singh

c) Subhash Chandra Bose

d) Vallabhbhai Patel

The correct answer is b) Capt Mohan Singh


4. Who is the author of the National Anthem of India?

a) Rabindranath Tagore

b) Vallabhbhai Patel

c) Bankim Chandra Chatterjee

d) Subhash Chandra Bose

The correct answer is a) Rabindranath Tagore


5. What does the blue wheel that appears in the Indian national flag stand for?

a) The wheel of law of justice

b) The wheel of religion

c) The wheel of Krishna

d) The wheel of fortune

The correct answer is a) The wheel of law of justice

6. Who gave the slogan “Give me blood and I shall give you freedom”?

a) Vallabhbhai Patel

b) Chandrashekhar Azad

c) Ramprasad Bismil

d) Subhash Chandra Bose

The correct answer is d) Subhash Chandra Bose


7. Who gave the slogan “Swaraj is my birthright and I shall have it”?

a) Mahatma Gandhi

b) Lal Bahadur Shastri

c) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

d) Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru

The correct answer is c) Bal Gangadhar Tilak


Independence Day Quiz 2020 India - 50 Questions with Answers 4

Independence Day Quiz 2020 – Questions and Answers

1. Who was the Governor General of India when the first war of India’s independence broke out in 1857?
Lord Canning


2.The first session of the Indian National Congress was presided over by:
Womesh Chander Banerjee


3. Who set up the Indian Independence League?
Rash Bihari Bose


4. Who once remarked“ Nehru is patriot while Jinnah is a Politician”
Mohammed Iqbal


5. Where was the Civil disobedience movement launched in1922?


6. When was the Non-Cooperation movement suspended?


7. Which movement marked Gandhiji’s entry into national politics?
Champaran Movement


8. The first weekly paper published by the Indian National Congress in 1889?
Voice of India


9. Who is the founder of Ghadar party?
Lala Hardayal


10. Name of the commission which was appointed by the British Government to probe the Jallianwala Bagh Massacre?
The Hunter Commission.


11. Who was the first to describe the mutiny of 1857 as the first war of independence?
Vinayak Samodar Savarkar


12. Who was elected as the President of All India Khilafat Conference held in Delhi in 1919?
Mahatma Gandhi


13.Which renowned musician sung the famous song “Raghupathi Raghav Rajaram” during the Dandi march?
Vishnu Digambar Paluskar


14.Who founded the “All India Harijan Samaj” in 1932?
Mahatma Gandhi


15. Who gave the slogan “Dilli Chalo” or “Marchto Delhi”?
Subhash Chandra Bose


16. Who presided over the Cabinet Mission?
Sir. P.Lawrence


17. In which session of Indian National Congress, the moderates and extremists sections of congress reunited?
1916 Lucknow


18. When was the English East India Company established?
1600 A.D


19. Which incident provoked Gandhiji to suspend the Civil Disobedience Movement?
Chauri Chaura incident


20. Who wrote the book “India’s First War of Independence”?
Vinayak Samodar Savarkar


21. What was the agenda of the Round Table Conference (1930-1932)?
Discuss the Simon Commission Report


22. At which session of the Indian National Congress was “Vande Mataram” sung for the firsttime?
1896 Session


23. Who gave the slogan” Give me blood and I promise you freedom”?
Subhash Chandra Bose


24. When did the Government of the English East India Company come to anend?
1858 A.D


25. Where did the Congress Working committee first accept the idea of the Quit India Movement?


26.When did Indian National Congress adopt the resolution of “self Government” for the first time?


27. Which leader died on the day the Non cooperation movement was launched in1920?
Bal Gangadhar Tilak


28. In 1938, Subhash Chandra Bose was elected as the president of Indian National Congress defeating Gandhiji’s candidate. Who was this candidate?
Pattabhi Sita Ramayya


29. Who is the only Keralite to become the President of Indian National Congress?
Chettur Sankaran Nair


30.Which year onwards Gandhi Jayanthi is celebrated as international nonviolence day?


31. The only national leader who was infavour of the Cripp’s plan and the acceptance of the principle of Pakistan?


32. Which session of Indian National Congress passed resolution on national economic programme and on fundamental rights and duties?
Karachi session of 1931


33.Who was proclaimed as the emperor of India during the great Indian Mutiny of 1857?
Bahadur Shah II

34. When did Indian National Congress adopt a resolution demanding complete independence for the first time?


35. Who was the viceroy of India when Montague- Chelmsford reforms were introduced?
Lord Chelmsford


36. What is the nick name of the English East India Company?
John Company


37. Who was the Prime Minister of Britain during the Revolt of 1857?
Lord Palmerstone


38.Where was the Provisional Government of Independent India (Azad Hind)formed?


39. In which act, the rule of East India Company ended in India?
Govt. of India Act, 1858


40. The Kakinada session of the Indian National Congress, which inspired the launch of the Vaikom Satyagraha , was held in :


41.The Cripps Mission visited India during the regime of :
Lord Linlithgow


42. Who founded the Indian League?
Shishir Kumar Ghose


43. The famous INA trials took place at the Red Fort,Delhi in?


44. Who wrote the book “The origin of the Indian National Congress”?
Pattabhi Sita Ramayya


45. Who was the leader of the Revolt of 1857 at Jagadishpur?
Kunwar Singh


46. “The congress is in reality a civil war without arms” Who said this?
Sir Syed Ahmad Khan


47. The second visit of Simon Commission was in?


48. Name the viceroy of India when the Rowlatt Act was repealed?
Lord Reeding


49. Who was the president of the Indian National Congress in the Gaya Session of 1922?


50. When did Gandhiji start the Sabarmati Ashram?



Gourav bagora
A Passionate Blogger & YouTube Creator by Heart 💖. Achieved 2 Silver Play Buttons for crossing 100K Subscribers by YouTube.